ADA Forum 2016 - Program

ADA Copyright Forum 2016

18 March, National Library of Australia

Innovation 2016: The Case for Law Reform


The printed version of this program, with full speaker information, is available here.


8:30  Registration, National Library of Australia

9:00  Welcome
Derek Whitehead OAM - Chair, Australian Digital Alliance

9:10  Digital opportunity: powering innovation through copyright
Prof Ian Hargreaves - Professor of Digital Economy at Cardiff University

9:50  Launch of “Digital Growth: How the internet is fueling the growth of creative industries in Australia”
(Chair) Jayant Bhargava - Strategy&
Marina Go - General Manager, Hearst-Bauer Media
Louise van Rooyen - Director, Business Development, beamafilm

10:30  Australian Copyright in 2016
Senator the Hon Mitch Fifield - Minister for Communications and the Arts

10:50  Morning Tea

11:20  The CADAOM Bill - what does it say and what does it mean?
Geoff Hinchcliffe - Director, State Records Authority of New South Wales
Delia Browne - National Copyright Director for Schools and TAFEs, Ministerial Council on Education, Early Childhood Development and Youth Affairs
Bruce Maguire - Policy and Public Affairs Adviser, Vision Australia
Chaman Sidhu - General Counsel and Company Secretary, Envato

12:15  Global Copyright Reform
James Ting-Edwards - InternetNZ
Jessica Coates - Australian Digital Alliance

12:45  Lunch

13:45  The Wacky World of Copyright in 2015
Trish Hepworth - Copyright expert and consultant

14:00  The Australian library and archive exceptions on the international stage
Prof Kenneth Crews - Columbia Law School and the Munich Intellectual Property Law Center

14:50  Information Environmentalism
Dr Robert Cunningham - Curtin Law School

15:10  A comprehensive approach to the copyright public domain
Prof Graham Greenleaf - University of New South Wales

15:30  Afternoon tea

16:00  What if we could reimagine copyright?
(Chair) Dr Rebecca Giblin - Monash University
David Court - Australian Film, Television & Radio School
Stephen Young - Former University of Melbourne Copyright Officer
Christy Dena - Director, Universe Creation 101
Pia Waugh - Gov 2.0 expert and civic hacker

16:50  Closing Summary

17:00  Close

© 2016 - Australian Digital Alliance

Website by Oxide Interactive Canberra web design and usability