ADA Copyright Forum 2019 – Speakers

Sari Braithwaite

Sari Braithwaite is a filmmaker who works across the disciplines of history and film. Her documentary films have played at MIFF, SFF, Adelaide Film Festival, New Zealand International Film Festival, DocPoint and BFI London. Her 2016 film Paper Trails earned her a Directors Guild Award. She was a recipient of the 2015 AFTRS Creative Fellowship to create her first feature length experimental work [CENSORED], which was awarded Best Documentary at the Chicago International Film Festival.

Emeritus Professor Tom Cochrane

Adjunct Professor, Faculty of Law, Queensland University of Technology

Emeritus Professor Tom Cochrane is currently Adjunct Professor in the Faculty of Law at the Queensland University of Technology (QUT) in Brisbane, Australia. He was formerly, (until retiring from the position in December 2013), Deputy Vice-Chancellor (Vice-President) at QUT. In his current role, Professor Cochrane's external duties include: Director, Australian Digital Alliance; Deputy Chair, Library Board of Queensland, and member a Copyright Reference Group for Universities Australia. He has also been co-leader of the Creative Commons project for which QUT is the institutional partner for Australia. This project, together with other open access initiatives locally based at QUT, signals a long standing commitment to improving access to research outputs and the supporting infrastructure worldwide. This is part of a wider general commitment to promoting access to knowledge and a fair go for every person in the copyright ecosystem.

Dr Michael Geist

Canada Research Chair in Internet and E-commerce Law, University of Ottawa

Dr. Michael Geist is a law professor at the University of Ottawa where he holds the Canada Research Chair in Internet and E-commerce Law and is a member of the Centre for Law, Technology and Society. He is a regular columnist in the Globe and Mail, the editor of several monthly technology law publications, and the author of a popular blog on Internet and intellectual property law issues. Dr. Geist serves on many boards, including Ingenium, CIRA, Internet Archive Canada, and the EFF Advisory Board. He was appointed to the Order of Ontario in 2018 and has received numerous awards for his work including the Kroeger Award for Policy Leadership and the Public Knowledge IP3 Award in 2010, the Les Fowlie Award for Intellectual Freedom from the Ontario Library Association in 2009, the EFF’s Pioneer Award in 2008, and Canarie’s IWAY Public Leadership Award for his contribution to the development of the Internet in Canada.

Associate Professor Rebecca Giblin

ARC Future Fellow and Associate Professor, Monash University

Rebecca Giblin is an ARC Future Fellow, currently leading research to investigate what copyright law could look like if it took authors’ interests more seriously, as well as research into understanding the legal and social impacts of ebook lending in public libraries around the world. You can learn more about the projects at and

Julia Reda

Member of the European Parliament

Julia Reda was elected to the European Parliament for the Pirate Party in 2014. She is a Vice-Chair of her parliamentary group, the Greens/European Free Alliance. In the European Parliament, she serves as a coordinator for the Greens/EFA in the Committee on Internal Market & Consumer Protection (IMCO), as a member of the Legal Affairs (JURI) committee, and the committee on Industry, Research and Energy (ITRE). She was elected to the Enquiry Committee on the Emissions Scandal ("Dieselgate") and co-founded the Digital Agenda intergroup. Her legislative focus is on copyright and internet policy issues. In 2015, she was responsible for the Parliament's evaluation of the Copyright Directive.
Born in Bonn in 1986, Julia Reda was a member of the German Social Democrats for six years before joining the Piratenpartei in 2009 amidst a debate on internet blocking. She served as chairwoman of the party's youth wing from 2010 to 2012 and is a founder of the Young Pirates of Europe. She holds an M.A. in political science and communications science from Johannes-Gutenberg-University Mainz, Germany.

Juliet Rogers

CEO, Australian Society of Authors

Juliet has had a long career in publishing, including Managing Director of Random House (NZ and Australia) and CEO of Murdoch Books. Before taking on the role of CEO at the ASA, she also ran her own small publishing and consultancy business. She has chaired Booksellers New Zealand, (when it was joint publishers and booksellers), the Indigenous Literacy Foundation and been President of the Australian Publishers Association. She is now Vice Chair of the Copyright Council, Australia.

© 2016 - Australian Digital Alliance

Website by Oxide Interactive Canberra web design and usability